My ramblings about all things technical

TOGAF 9.1 Level 1 and 2

This  week I have been on the TOGAF Level 1 and Level 2 training. I have been trying to get on this training for a while as I have never been officially taught Enterprise Architecture design but rather learnt it from experience and from my preparations for my VCDX. Seeing as I am a bit of a certification junkie and I like to use exams to push myself to learn I will be aiming to sit and pass the exams.  So alike to what I have done for many certifications I am listing all the resources I have started to use and will be using in my preparations.

The Exam

I am planning on doing the dual exam covering both part 1 and 2 but you can take them separately as well. The exams and what you need to pass them are as follows:

  • TOGAF 9 Part 1 – Pass mark 55% (22 or more points out of a maximum of 40)
    This exam comprises 40 questions in simple multiple choice format, covering the Level 1 learning outcomes (see the Conformance Requirements for detail). Each correct answer scores a single point.
  • TOGAF 9 Part 2 – Pass mark 60% (24 or more points out of a maximum of 40)
    This exam comprises 8 complex scenario questions, with gradient scoring. This exam is open book and covers the complete Level 2 learning outcomes. The correct answer scores 5 points, the second best answer 3 points, the third best answer 1 point. The distracter scores zero points.
  • TOGAF 9 Combined Part 1 and 2 – This is a combined TOGAF 9 Part 1 and Part 2 examination for candidates who want to achieve Level 2 certification directly in a single examination. It consists of two sections, with pass marks as per the TOGAF 9 Part 1 and 2 examinations described above. Each section must be passed in order to obtain an overall pass mark. If you fail a section then no certification is awarded, however you only need retake the Examination(s) corresponding to the failed section(s).

The Combined Part 1 and Part 2 examination is designed for candidates who want to go to TOGAF 9 Certified without the intermediate step of TOGAF 9 Foundation, and who want to take both papers in one examination session. If you take the exams separately and only pass Part 1 you will be awarded TOGAF 9 Foundation. If you take the Combined Exam, and fail a section, you will need to retake the failed section(s) before certification will be awarded.


The two official study guides can  be bought together as a bundle with additional supporting material here.



During my VCDX preparation I found the benefit of flashcards and utilised quizlet extensively to write down questions I might be asked in the defence. There are three sets of flashcards I have found around TOGAF. They  seem to be for the first test but as I’ve said before it never hurts to have a solid base.

EA Tools

Open Group Links


Assorted Links

A special mention for my lecturer for the TOGAF course who provided me a fair number of these links Steve Corlew. If you know of any other really good resources then please do let me know